Credit facilities to Minority Communities - 121 Minority Concentrated Districts

Click Here to Download the Data on Credit Assistance Provided to Specified Minority Communities

1. Government of India, Ministry of Welfare has notified the Sikhs, Muslims, Christians, Zoroastrians and Buddhists as minority communities.

2. The Banks have been advised to ensure that the minority communities receive an equitable portion of the credit , within the overall target for priority sector lending and the subtarget of 10 percent for the weaker sections .

3. Government of India has advised that credit flow should be monitored in 121 minority concentration districts which have at least 25% minority population, excluding those States/UTs where minorities are in majority (J & K, Punjab, Meghalaya, Mizoram, Nagaland & Lakshdweep).

4. Click here to download the list of 121 Minority Concentrated Districts

Stepping up the Credit flow to Minorities

The GOI has further directed to step up Priority Sector Lending to Minorities to 15% by the end of 2009-2010 . Accordingly Dena Bank provides credit to Minority Communities under Priority Sector which includes Agriculture SME, Housing , education , Self Help Groups through its various schemes like Dena Kisan Credit Card Scheme, Dena Kisan Gold Credit Card Scheme, Dena General Credit Card, Dena Artisan Credit Card , Dena Laghu Udyami Credit Card etc., for various income generating purposes as per banks norms .

Credit is also being provided under various Govt. Sponsored Programmes like Swarnjayanti Gram Swarojgar Rozgar Yojana (SGSY) , Prime Minister’s Rozgar Yojana (PMRY) , Swarna Jayanti Shahari Rozgar Yojana (SJSRY), Scheme for Liberation and Rehabilitation of Scavengers (SLRS) etc., where subsidy is available.